303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

It's a Fabulous Life: A Novel (Paperback)

It's a Fabulous Life: A Novel By Kelly Farmer Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves now
1 on hand, as of Jul 14 1:05am
(Romance)

Description


Perfect for fans of Alison Cochrun and Ashley Herring Blake, this sapphic retelling of It’s a Wonderful Life will make the yuletide gay.

After years of putting aside her dreams of travel and adventure, Bailey George is ready to leave Lanford Falls and her responsibilities behind on a long-awaited vacation to New York City. But when the volunteer who took over her leadership position for the town's Winter Wonderfest has a medical emergency, Bailey finds herself stuck in Lanford Falls. She gets roped into reassuming her old role, not wanting to let the town or her friends and family down. 

Staying home seems slightly less terrible when Bailey runs into her high school crush, Maria Hatcher. A kiss they shared years ago in the town's mistletoe grove was a life-defining moment for them both. Maria quickly offers to pitch in and help with Winter Wonderfest. Her sunny disposition and holiday cheer perk up Bailey's grinchy feelings about everything. 

However, one disaster after another snowball on the day of the festival. Bailey’s frustration boils over, and she ends up on the town's old wooden bridge. There, she meets fabulous drag queen Clara Angel. Bailey declares that she wishes she hadn’t been born in this Christmas-obsessed, suffocating small town. With a little of the magic Clara possesses, she shows Bailey how wrong she is about Lanford Falls and her place in it. And that with a little hope and some true holiday spirit, there is a way to attain all her dreams.

About the Author


Kelly Farmer has been writing romance novels since junior high. The stories have changed, but one theme remains the same: everyone deserves to have a happy ending. She loves telling tales with a touch of snark and a lot of heart. When not writing, she enjoys being outside in nature, quoting from Eighties movies, listening to all kinds of music, and petting every dog she comes in contact with. All of these show up in her books. Kelly lives in the Chicago area, where she swears every winter is her last one there.

Praise For…


Praise for It’s a Fabulous Life:
“A goodie bag of romance tropes: edenic small town, childhood sweethearts reunited, and Christmas magic . . . A solid festive option for fans of the original.”
Publishers Weekly

“The author updates the classic Capra movie for a modern audience, with a female/female second-chance Christmas romance and several queer characters who have supportive allies.”
Kirkus Reviews

“This is a tender romance and an excellent, feel-good holiday story with a touch of magic.”
Library Journal

“You won’t find a more inventive read than It's a Fabulous Life this holiday season.”
Entertainment Weekly

“Festive, heart-warming, and kind. I want to live in Lanford Falls.”
—Cat Sebastian, nationally bestselling author of The Queer Principles of Kit Webb and We Could Be So Good

“This delightful small town holiday rom-com full of sapphic love and drag queens will make your heart grow three sizes. It’s a Fabulous Life is as sweet and heartwarming as a cup of hot cocoa on Christmas morning.” 
—Susie Dumond, author of Queerly Beloved

“Breathes Christmas cheer straight into the reader's heart . . . Christmas pop-culture fanatics will fall head over heels.”
—Codi Hall, author of Nick and Noel's Christmas Playlist

“A Christmassy delight! With its charming small town, heartwarming romance, and magical drag queens, It's a Fabulous Life captures the true spirit of the season.”
—Rachel Lacey, author of Read Between the Lines
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639106042
ISBN-10: 1639106049
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
Find Us on Kayak Guides