303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm
My Account

Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas Visual Companion (Commemorating 30 Y ears) (Disney Editions Deluxe) (Hardcover)

Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas Visual Companion (Commemorating 30 Y ears) (Disney Editions Deluxe) By David A. Bossert Cover Image
$50.00
On Our Shelves now
5 on hand, as of Dec 10 2:33am
(REC. CASE5)

Description


Just in time for the whimsical holiday classic film's 30th anniversary comes a deep-dive reflection about the making of Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas! This enchanting coffee table book features new interviews with the filmmakers and rare images from the Disney and Burton art collections!

Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas was crafted as a piece of art: a visual masterpiece that blended together the genius of Tim Burton’s simple story and endearing characters with Danny Elfman’s eclectic music; Henry Selick’s stop-motion brilliance; Caroline Thompson’s heartfelt script; and the painstaking efforts of hundreds of artists, animators, and technicians—all wrapped in a world that only Burton could conjure up. Paired with stunning and never-before-released art and photography, this book transports readers into a one-of-a-kind, retrospective journey detailing how Nightmare was thoughtfully crafted and all the ways in which the fan community worldwide has embraced the film ever since.

This beautiful volume serves as the must-have book for fans of the film, artists and art collectors, and anyone who appreciates some frightfully good movie magic.

About the Author


David A. Bossert is an award-winning artist, filmmaker, and author. He worked at The Walt Disney Company for more than thirty-two years and is now an independent producer, creative director, and writer. Bossert contributed his talents to The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, The Lion King, Pocahontas, Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas, Who Framed Roger Rabbit, Fantasia/2000, Destino and many others. He is a member of the CalArts Board of Trustees and is a visiting scholar at Carnegie Mellon University's Entertainment Technology Center (ETC) in Pittsburgh. Bossert is an authority on Disney animation history and has written numerous articles, liner notes, and concert program notes related to animation. He co-authored Disney Animated, which was named iPad App of 2013 by Apple and won a prestigious British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) award. Learn more at www.davidbossert.com.

Praise For…


Dave Bossert has created a wonderful book to commemorate Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas, more than thirty years on. He masterfully blends interviews with Tim Burton, Danny Elman, and myself along with many of the talented artists who worked on the film into a very nuanced and personal picture of how the movie actually came together, was made, and went from a cult favorite to a holiday classic. It's a remarkable book about a remarkable, one-of-a-kind renegade project that has stood the test of time.
   —Henry Selick, Director, Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas

"Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas has become a cult-film favorite for fans of Tim Burton, Halloween, Santa, and Disney . . . now Dave Bossert gives us the must-have bible about the history and making of this legendary animated classic."
   —Don Hahn, Producer/Director

"Dave Bossert's research is impeccable, his text is an easy read, and the selection of illustrations is stimulating from start to finish. This is the book I always wanted to own about a movie that has haunted me ever since its release."
   —Didier Ghez, Author of the book series They Drew As They Pleased—The Hidden Art of Disney

"What a pleasure it is to be transported back in time by author Dave Bossert and given this fascinating, hands-on ride through the making of Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas. With meticulous attention to detail combined with an incredible amount of research, Bossert's passion for our little movie shines brightly as he adroitly shares our creation story with the reader. It is a joy, and an honor, to see this beautifully-documented and insightful book, as it reveals the commitment of our close-knit crew to elevating the art of stop-motion and crafting the timeless story of Sally and Jack."
   —Eric Leighton, Animation Supervisor, Tim Burton’s The Nightmare Before Christmas

"I love it when Dave Bossert writes about all things Disney. As Danny Elfman's agent and a hardcore Disney geek, I was around from the earliest moments of the creation of Tim Burton's The Nightmare Before Christmas, yet for all I heard and saw and thought I knew, I am stupefied at how much deeper Bossert digs and unearths. Nightmare is a one-of-a-kind masterpiece. So glad the story of its birth has gotten the full Bossert treatment."
   —Richard Kraft, Co-owner/Kraft-Engel Managemen
Product Details
ISBN: 9781484799857
ISBN-10: 1484799852
Publisher: Disney Editions
Publication Date: September 26th, 2023
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Disney Editions Deluxe
303-447-2074
1107 Pearl Street, Boulder, Colorado 80302
info@boulderbookstore.com
Mon-Sat: 10am-10pm | Sun: 11am-7pm